Series Fiction

All posts tagged Series Fiction

Series of Unfortunate Events, by Lemony Snicket

Published March 7, 2013 by Dagmar

unfortunateeventsThis series for those kids who don’t mind “dark”.  Yes, the children are orphans.  Yes, they are followed by creepy characters.  Yes.  Many bad things happen.  But.  These villians are no match for the three Baudelaire children, Violet, Klaus and Sunny.  Violet is a 14 year old inventor with a hair ribbon.  Klaus has read every book imaginable and is a walking encyclopedia.  Sunny, just a baby, has a remarkably strong set of teeth.  All these skills, inventions, book knowledge and a strong set of teeth are the keys to these children’s survival in the 13 books that comprise this series.  Yes.  These books are dark.  But.  These books are great.


Mr. Putter and Tabby, by Cynthia Rylant

Published March 7, 2013 by Dagmar

mrputterI love the Mr. Putter and Tabby series for 1st and 2nd grade readers or a fun read aloud for K and 1st grade.  There are about 20 books in the series and would make great gifts.  My personal favorites are: Mr. Putter and Tabby Take the Train, Mr. Putter and Tabby Feed the Fish, Mr. Putter and Tabby Fly the Plane and Mr. Putter and Tabby Row the Boat.

Mr. Putter is an elderly man who lives with his fine cat Tabby.  He lives next door to Mrs. Teaberry and her naughtly dog Zeke.  Together, Mr. Putter and Tabby and Mrs. Teaberry and Zeke go on many fun, and funny, adventures.  The three short chapter format is perfect for young readers.

The illustrations by Arthur Howard are colorful and engaging.  Highly recommended for young readers.

Ranger’s Apprentice, by John Flanagan

Published January 15, 2013 by Dagmar

rangersapprenticeThe Ruins of Gorlan is the first book in a terrific series for late elementary and middle graders called Ranger’s Apprentice.  Will is left in a basket at Castle Redmond as a baby with only a note that says that his mother died and his father died a hero.  Will grows up as a ward of the Castle Arald.  The wards of the castle are assigned apprenticeships when they become teenagers.  Will hopes to become a warrior just as he imagines his father was.  To be a warrior, he must train at Battle School.  However, when the Choosing Day arrives, Will is apprenticed to a Ranger.  As Will learns his new trade, he also learns to appreciate the important role the Rangers hold in defending the kingdom.

Ranger’s Apprentice is an intelligent series, drawing readers in and keeping them engaged.  There are 10 books in the series and a book of Lost Stories.  Highly recommended for fourth grade through middle school.

My Weird School and My Weird School Daze, by Dan Gutman and Jim Paillot

Published November 29, 2012 by Dagmar

my weird schoolI can’t say enough about these very funny book series.  These books are among the most popular books in my library.  I bought them because my son read every single book in the two series in second grade.  This is great for second grade or for reluctant readers in older grades.  There are lots of books in the series, so plenty of material for students to enjoy.